Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Air tank/air efficiency question?

Robert Dalton

Team Domination
Aug 24, 2014
Spalding, Lincolnshire
I'm new to owning my own gear and have the planet eclipse etha, with a 3000 psi steel tank however I only managed to put through a hopper and 2 pods before I'm out of air from a 2-2.5 fill in my tank?

What can I do to improve this, do I need to change settings or buy a larger tank?

Tom

Tom
Nov 27, 2006
Salisbury
www.TaskForceDelta.co.uk
Have a look at the calculator linked below, this will give you a comparative guide

http://www.scubatoys.com/paintball/paintballshots.asp

Part of the issue is that by starting with only 2000 - 2500psi you are disadvantaged by not having the capacity the cylinder will take *
Changing cylinder won't help with that, other than a bigger one

You can always adjust settings for more or less efficiency, barrel matching to the bore of the paintballs on the day and fine tuning velocity
With velocity it's not just a matter of shooting at the allowable velocity (eg 280fps) but you can find more consistency with a little turn down. The hammerhead website has a good guide to this as 'dialing in' their barrel kits

* Regarding the initial pressure issue- if the fill system is fast the cylinder and air will heat up, the air expands and you get an artificially higher pressure, wait a few minutes and as the cylinder and air cool the pressure drops

When filling do it slowly, stop a couple of times and pause for a moment then fill some more. If filling from empty then definately take time
Then return a few minutes later to top up
(Check the fill pressure when you have filled and check again a little later, then you will know if this is the reason)

At the start of the day fill up as early as possible, then top up before going in game. As you exit refill, and then top up before going in game

Reactions: Robert Dalton

Robert Dalton

Team Domination
Aug 24, 2014
Spalding, Lincolnshire