Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Barrel cam

Dec 13, 2007
toytown taunton
Hi all

( Don't know where to post this , so please move if needed ) - oh, just found where I could and should of posted :-S

I'm Possibly looking at getting a barrel cam , but I have little knowledge on them.
Does anyone own or used one that they can recommend ??

Cheers

Tom

Tom
Nov 27, 2006
Salisbury
www.TaskForceDelta.co.uk
Firstly - barrel cam or helmet cam?

The cameras are the same, attaching to your head will give more footage.
On your head you film what you look at - consider the side/position in relation to how you hold your gun when shooting, and don't just pick the other side as instead if half a hopper in shot, you get a tree/bunker.
Putting it on the barrel will avoid those obstructions, but will film a lot of ground or sky and be jerky when moved

On to the cameras:
You can go branded, non branded and Hong Kong rip offs.
Check out Techmoan on YouTube for reviews on numerous cameras

The key ones I will highlight are the obvious contour and gopro, but also sony and bulletcams.

Gopro got in first and have pretty much cornered the market for action sports and pov shots on tv.
But for paintball the contour is more suitable, gopros sit as a big box on anything you mount it on
The sony action cam beats both of them

The contour is paintball ready and survives being shot without a case
The sony and gopro both need to be in their waterproof cases. This affects sound but you can add 'non waterproof' doors to let in sound.

Bullet cams should be paintball safe, but if in doubt get one from plasmalights and you know that it is.