Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Quantifying technical skills

hipjaw

pbplayr.blogspot.co.uk // Reading Entity // #22
Apr 8, 2011
Bristol
pbplayr.blogspot.co.uk
Okay so this is an idea I had after discussing how important technical skills are compared to paintball know-how. The latter isn't particularly quantifiable howevery I believe the former, to an extent, can be.

Not being a particularly good statistician myself I want to forward the idea and see what people think.

The goal of this is to create a test, which shouldn't take too long to perform (maybe 10-25 minutes) with the help of a coach to record scores and times, which gives the player a quantified "skill rating".

So a very basic example would be:

Static accuracy:
1. In 10 seconds and 10 shots, snapshoot a target that is 10/15/20m away with your left hand.
2. In 10 seconds and 10 shots, snapshoot a 140 pod on a stick that is 10/15/20m away with your right hand.

You will be scored x/20

Laning accuracy:

3. Starting at the gate, shoot for a target 25m (however long a paintball field is) away 10 times left handed
4. Starting at the gate, shoot for a target 25m away 10 times right handed

You will be scored x/20 points for every target hit.

Running/gunning accuracy:
5. Run to a bunker on your right 15m away shooting a target that is 20m ahead
6. Run to a bunker on your left 15m away shooting a target that is 20m ahead

You will be scored for each hit on the target and also timed (thinking there should be a speed bonus / penalty applied so someone who hits the target 5 times in 4 seconds should score higher than someone who hits it 5 times I'm 6 seconds)

The test scores will then be able to highlight where your weaknesses are, but also collated together to come to the overall player score.