Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Switching from CO2 to air

Johnmac

Feb 1, 2010
Hello all. Just joined the forum and need some advice about air. I'm afraid I am not good with computers or technology in general, and no doubt this question has been asked and answered many times over, so excuse my ignorance!

My four friends and I have various Tippman and BT markers that were running on CO2, and with the January sales and problems getting CO2 fills and or bottles have switched to Air. We now all have 0.8l 3000psi bottles for our markers. We live in Perthshire, Scotland, and have a local dive centre at Dundee and they have so far filled our 0.8l bottles once each at a cost of £3.50 per bottle, which seemed a bit expensive?? Plus it's a half hour drive there and back to fill.

We were thinking of going with a large diving bottle either new or second hand to save us time and money.

Questions are....

What size of bottle/bar do we need?? 12l? 15l??
How much should we expect to pay for a new or second hand bottle in each size??
How much should we expect to pay for a refill of a 12/15l bottle??
Last but not least, how many fills can you expect from a 12/15l bottle into 0.8l bottles??? And are there any problems or issues with dropping pressure as the dive bottle becomes less full??

Many thanks for any help!

John.

Liam92

#16 Reading Entity
Nov 4, 2009
Glasgow, Scotland
well i happen to be a scuba diver as well which comes in handy :p you can get a good second hand 12l tank for around £100, and since your not going to be diving with them i wouldnt be too worried about buying second hand, but still a good idea to have them tested when due.