Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Newbie with calibre and walk on questions

Ursine Buffoon

Sep 8, 2021
Newbie here! Apologies in advance for the bone questions but I figure I have to start somewhere.

Lockdown has led me here, with a notion of getting into mag fed paintball as a new hobby. I'm too old and too crunchy kneed to play with much regularity so I'm basically looking to have a laugh at the odd walk on and, eventually some events.

With that in mind, I've been looking at second hand markers. I have the misfortune of owning a couple of gen 1 RAP4 .43 pistols, which are mostly only good for plinking in the garden and accelerating global warming with CO2 leaks and bust o rings.

The main question I have is around the utility of .50 for magfed in the UK. How much of a disadvantage is it in terms of range and do many sites allow it, or are most still 68 cal?
I like the idea of a .50 marker because I can use it at home more readily than I can "full fat" but if I can't field it anywhere or I'm going to be completely outranged then it's a non starter.

Is anyone using .50 for walkons, or is it purely a light option for rentals?

BOD

The brotherhood
Aug 1, 2003
YORK
Visit site
I don't know what rules individual sites or events have regarding .50 cal but they shouldn't be outranged as it's a lighter ball so can be shot at a higher feet per second and be legal, the site i managed had .50 cal for juniors and i think we set them at around 330fps though i will admit never actually comparing one against a .68 set at 280fps.

Reactions: Ursine Buffoon

BOD

The brotherhood
Aug 1, 2003
YORK
Visit site
there were people using .50 cal for walkons, i remember quite a few getting conversion kits but i never tried it myself.

Ursine Buffoon

Sep 8, 2021