Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

velocity?

Jul 8, 2013
London ,UK
from what ive heard its not all about how hard your marker shoots, as long as its above 250fps which all markers do you'll be good. Some marker will be better at higher fps and some wont. I have an etha and i shoot at 280fps but ive heard others prefering to shoot around 260fps because it make the marker more consistent. so i think it all depends on your gun.

dont take my absolute word for it im just a newbie too but just going from what ive read and been told

Alex R

Fusion 141
Jul 15, 2006
North Yorkshire
Increasing the velocity will increase the force behind the ball, you may shoot a little further, but I imagine the accuracy would suffer.

Tom

Tom
Nov 27, 2006
Salisbury
www.TaskForceDelta.co.uk
Bear in mind you need to be within the legal limit on velocity (generally accepted as 300fps but is in fact based on 12 ft pounds of pressure so strictly speaking varies depending on the mass of the paintball) and within the events maximum velocity

A professional tournament may go nearer to the legal limit but the general maximum velocity used is 280fps for normal paintball and 250fps for indoor,CQB or night games

A higher velocity would be expected to go further. Depending on your thoughts on physics the accuracy at a given distance could be the same going by the theory that it still drops / swerves at the same rate (and at a further maximum range could be therefore further off centre) or could be better if you go by the theory that more energy in flight fights against side winds, or worse of you go by the same impact of sidewinds but accompanied by more energy flying off course

Accuracy is more dependant on consistency. If you go by the instructions for hammerhead barrel kits you 'tune' the barrel by starting at a high velocity then turning down the velocity gradually whilst watching for consistently straight shots

Last edited:
Reactions: michael freeman

Tom

Tom