Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Age of marshalls?

Tigger The Bouncing Assassin

****** with a capital 'R'
Feb 25, 2002
London
Visit site
I sit here typing this in a fairly distressed mood, after having just been 'sacked' (fired) from my job as marshall at the rentail site in England. I have been marshalling there for the 11 months. I am 16, but look older. I was told the reason for my 'dissmissal' was that the site only wanted to empoly older marshalls (20/30 years old) as they thought it was easier for older marshalls to cope with 'agressive' players. Now, i ask you this. do you think this is unfair? I am a fair marshall, and in 11 months of marshalling paintball i have only had 2 incidents from stupid ****wits. I loved my job, and as it was cash in hand, i cannot calm unfair dissmissal. They have still offered to let me play paintball at reduced price, paying cost price for paint. I feel really pissed off at the moment.

question: Would you obay a marshalls decision what ever his age, given that he/she had more paintball experiance than you?

cheers,
one pissed off ex-marshall.
eddie

MidgetFista

Nov 12, 2001
Cheshire, UK
homepages.manx.net
Originally posted by Tigger The Bouncing Assassin
I <snip>
question: Would you obay a marshalls decision what ever his age, given that he/she had more paintball experiance than you?
<snip>
Personally, yes. I would obey a command from any marshall. They are there to enforce the rules, and maintain safety for other people on the site.

BUT. there are ALOT of people out they that believe anyone younger then them is wrong, no matter what situation (work, etc). This is part of life, and i'm afriad you've got to accept it.

If there was an aggresive player (that shouldn't happen, but does), do you really thing you could stand up to them? I'm 20, marshall, and i don't like it when people start getting arsey, but its part of working on a rental site. There is always people out to cause bullsh1t.