Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Poor Newbie Needs Cheap Weaponary

Smally85

Super5ives 2010 Champions
I'm a poor student and have very recently decided to start paintballing, I've been a couple of times and I'm hooked!

However I need some decent firepower of my own! As I'm a very poor student I was thinking about getting a Pump, guy had one last time I played and it was devastating!

So should I go for a little old Pump or save up for a better gun?

Darkwerks

Oct 27, 2001
London
Visit site
My advise:For pure recreational, stalking-thru-the-woods, you might be able to get away with a pump. If you are going to stick with paintball long term and play fairly seriously, especially at "own gun walk ons" a pump gun will almost certainly be a bad investment. Nothing wrong with pumps, but if you are competing against 13 ball per second high end markers, you are going to be outclassed.

I'd look at getting a good reliable starter marker, maybe an Inferno,or Spyder which can be upgraded to a high level as time and money allows. Or if you are so inclined, for the same amount of money, a second hand Autococker or Impulse would be good choice. In any case, you should always try before you buy. Test play a few games with a couple of different markers. The one that feels right is the one for you.
There are a couple of threads in the classified section that have full ex-rental starter kits going for about £100
Welcome to the game, and see you in the middle :cool:

Darkwerks

Oct 27, 2001
London
Visit site
My advise:For pure recreational, stalking-thru-the-woods, you might be able to get away with a pump. If you are going to stick with paintball long term and play fairly seriously, especially at "own gun walk ons" a pump gun will almost certainly be a bad investment. Nothing wrong with pumps, but if you are competing against 13 ball per second high end markers, you are going to be outclassed.