Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Spyder or Piranha?

Brokemelon

Permanent Newbie
Dec 4, 2001
Los Angeles
Hey... born-again newbie here. I haven't been to a field to play since I worked at one about 5 years ago, and lately I've been gettin' the itch to lite someone up. I'm going to play in the next few weeks and am already pretty sure I'm gonna want a marker, visting a field after being gone so long. But I can't decide if i want a Spyder TL Plus or a Piranha G3 STS. They're pretty comparable in price and features. I've used a Spyder before and liked it, and they've been around for a while, but the Piranha seems to be a cleaner design and of more sound construction. Not to mention it looks better. If anyone had any info or opinions on the matter, it would be much appreciated.

Buddha 3

Hamfist McPunchalot
Well, if you think it looks better, it should be pretty much decided....:)
Okay, I'll impart the knowledge I gained working in a P'ball store.
Spyder: Pretty good value for money. User friendly, doesn't break down often. Lots of upgrades available, such as aftermarket barrels and internals. Well made.
Piranha: Pretty good value for money. As user friendly as they come. This marker is totally strip-downable in a matter of seconds! Whatever part you should want to replace, you can be up and gunning again within five minutes. Lots of upgrades available as well (same barrel threading by the way).

Piranha's edge over the spyder: User friendliness. Easiest to maintain marker in that price range. (plus looks, but that is ofcourse a matter of opinion)
Spyder's edge over the Piranha: Durability. I would say the Spyder is just a little less susceptible to wear and tear.