Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Tippmann 98 Custom or Tippmann Tango One?

g8rrard

Jul 25, 2010
I'm new to the paintballing scene and im wondering which gun to get? Tippmann 98 Custom or Tippmann Tango One... any advice on which to get?

DJForbes

Platinum Member
Jun 5, 2009
petitions.number10.gov.uk
depends what your future plans are m8.
if you plan to play just woodsball either of those guns are fine.
a basic tipman gives you loads of option on upgrades. buying the tango one gives you and already upgraded gun.

however if you wish to play tourney ball and woodsball you would need something completly different.

Bambulus

Wreckballer - PMGWC#2
Nov 13, 2008
that special place.
www.leekspin.com
Tippmann 98s are pretty much the workhorse guns of every site. It may not be worth buying one if your regular site uses them and keeps them in decent nick, as you'll just be turning up with a slightly newer marker that's no difference in performance to what every rental player has.

If you're playing woodsball and think you're into the milsim and woodland style then I'd definitely recommend an A5 or x7 over a 98. Maybe a SP1 if you can get one.
:)

Missy-Q

300lb of Chocolate Love
Jul 31, 2007
Harlem, NY
Don't get an SP1 - you can't get parts as the guns are no longer made. Always buy a gun you can get parts/accessories for easily.

If the choice is just the Tango or the P98, the only difference is the look, and the ACT. The Tango does not have the ACT, but you can choose the front grip. You are stuck with the stock front grip on the P98, which is uncool.

Personally, if I had to choose and couldn't get an A5 instead, I would choose the Tango. Then I would put a Cyclone feed on it with low-profile hopper, and a folding CQB grip, plus a folding/car stock. Then I would put an e-grip on it, and a Lapco Bigshot Assault barrel. I would of course have spent more on it by now than if I had bought an A5 with egrip......

Bambulus

Wreckballer - PMGWC#2