Welcome To P8ntballer.com
The Home Of European Paintball

Ion - Good air and hopper?

Marcus Geezer

Platinum Member
I'm awaiting delivery of my Ion :cool: , and was just wondering what would be recomended as the best hopper and air system to go with it.

Although I realise their are some very good bits of kit out there, I'm not looking to play tourney's or anything, just walk-ons at least for the first year or so. Therefore not looking to get the best kit that is out their, just good value for money equipment which won't let me down.

For the hopper I realise I will will need an electro one, but the choice seems unlimited and was looking for a recomendation of a good reliable budget one.

As for Air, I think a 1.1L tank with some kind of on/off seems the right way to go, but a bit confused about the requirements of High and Low pressure and stuff like that. Recomendation of a good budget air system and on/off valve(?) would be useful.

Please, as I'm a newbie, help me make sensible budgetry choices that will let me get the best from my Ion....

Look forward to hearing from anyone who can help.

Ta. Marcus.

lemonadeX

Platinum Member
Jul 31, 2006
(near) Southampton
Even if you won't be doing tourneys, you wanna get the most out of your Ion so in terms of hoppers go with (at minimum) an Egg (viewloader evolution 2). Better but more expensive ones are the Halo and VLocity hoppers - Just depends how much ya wanna spend. Wouldn't bother with a Revvy (viewloader revolution) as they only agitate the balls, whereas the Egg/Halo/VLocity etc feed the balls into the gun.

As for air, a 1.1L would be fine and an on/off is recommended to save the threads on your ASA (so you aren't unscrewing the tank at high pressure). For recball you'd probably be safe with a 3000psi tank as thats what most sites fill to, although if you've got some more to spend you could go with a 4500psi. Remember to check the hydrotest date if you're buying 2nd hand.